Australian A-League Betting Odds

Upcoming Matches (odds subject to change)

Click a match link to go direct to Bet365 and place a bet. The betting slip will populate automatically.

Don't forget to enter the Bet365 bonus code if you are a new customer and plan to join. By doing so, you can access all the sports and casino bonuses that Bet365 offer in your country.

Sat, 25 May 2024

10:45 Central Coast Mariners
Melbourne Victory

Australian A-League

The A-League was established in 2004 by the Football Federation Australia (FFA) after the demise of the National Soccer League and is the highest level of men's domestic football in Australia and New Zealand. Since the 2019/20 season the league has been operated by the Australian Professional Leagues, a consortium made up of clubs in the A-League and their owners, similar to the Premier League in the UK and other European Clubs.

Like leagues in Canada and the US the Australian A-League does not operate a promotion or relegation system, though it is currently under debate whether this should be introduced.

From 2005 to 2020, the league was sponsored by Hyundai. After the end of this sponsorship deal, the league was sponsored by Bunnings Warehouse in 2020/21, and as of the 21/22 season, it has been sponsored by Isuzu UTE.

Competition Format

The A-League season runs from October to May, thoughout the Summer. There are currently 12 teams in the A-League, which is run on a points basis. Each time plays each other 2 or 3 times over 26 rounds and is awarded 3 points for a win, 1 for a draw and 0 for a loss.

At the end of the regular season the team at the top of the table on points is named the A-League Premier and earns a spot in the AFC Champions League.

After the regular season the top 6 teams compete in the finals series, which takes place over 4 weeks. Since the 2021/22 season the structure of this part of the competition is that the teams placed third to sixth each play a single elimination match, with the 2 winners of those games moving on to play the first and second placed teams in 2-legged ties over 2 weeks. The 2 winners of those matches progress to the Grand Final, where the winner is awarded the Champions Trophy.

Team Performance

The A-League has featured 15 teams over the years and currently consists of 12. Only 4 of those teams existed before the formation of the league.

The team with the best record is Sydney FC, with 5 championship wins , including the inaugural season in 2006 and 5 Premiers. They are closely followed by Melbourne Victory with 4 championship wins and 3 Premiers.

Brisbane Roar hold the record for the longest unbeaten run, winning 36 league matches in 2011.

In the 23/24 season Melbourne City finished top on points, earning their 3rd Premier title in a row. Central Coast Mariners defeated Melbourne City 6-1 in the Grand Final to win the Championship.

Betting on the A-League

Betting on individual league matches is a popular way to bet on the A-League. Bets can be placed on the winning team, correct score, first and last goal scorer and various other markets.

If you prefer to place a longer term bet, then bets can be placed on the season Premier, as well as the final Championship winner. Other popular markets for betting on the A-League include which teams will finish in the top 6, and which teams will ultimately meet in the final.

How to Watch

In Australia A-League games are shown by Network 10 and Paramount+ as part of a deal with Viacom set to run until 2025. All matches are available to stream on Paramount+ and each weekend 2 matches are shown live on 10 Bold. In New Zealand games are shown by Sky Sport.

Key Dates for 23/24

The A-League season will commence on 20th October 2023 and run until May 2024.

Further Information

Also See

Bet365 Safer gambling Tools
Exploring tools to manage your gambling Author: 16 April 2024
Bet365 Australia Deposit Methods -  Bet365 Mastercard - PayPal - POLi - Apple Pay
Instant deposits with Visa, Flexepin, PayPal and more. Author: 26 April 2024
Bet365 Cash Out
Settle your bets early to minimize risks and secure winnings. Author: 18 July 2023
Featured Bet365 Matches
  • Atalanta v Bayer Leverkusen
  • Man City v Man Utd
  • Leeds v Southampton
  • Borussia Dortmund v Real Madrid
  • More Match Odds...
Share This Page
Bet365 Number one for Sports, Never Ordinary