Championship Betting Odds

Upcoming Matches (odds subject to change)

The are currently no upcoming matches, this page will update as they become available.

The EFL Championship

The Championship is the highest division of the English Football League, and the second division in the whole English Football League System.

Originally called Division Two, it was renamed as the First Division in 1992 following the formation of the Premier League. In 2004 it was re-branded as The Football League Championship and in 2015 to the English Football League Championship (or EFL Championship).

It is the wealthiest football division in the world outside of the top flight of Football and has been sponsored by Sky Bet since 2013 with the current agreement due to run until 2024.

Championship Structure

There are 24 teams in the Championship, each playing the other teams once at home and once away over the course of a season. The league is structured on a points basis. 3 points are awarded for a win, 1 for a draw and zero for a loss. At the end of the season if teams are equal on points they are ranked by goal difference, then goals scored, then their head-to-head record in that season.

The top 2 teams in the Championship receive automatic promotion to the Premiership. The four teams placed 3rd to 6th then take place in the play-offs. Semi-final matches in the play-offs are played over two legs and the winner of each semi-final, based on the aggregate score, then goes on to the final. The winner of play-offs receives promotion to the Premiership.

The bottom placed teams at the end of the season are relegated to League One.


The Championship play-offs are the single most valuable sporting event in the world to the winners. Increased television revenues in the Premier League mean the winner can expect to be around £60 million better off than the loser.

Nottingham Forest currently hold the longest tenure in the Championship, last being out of the division in the 2007–08 season.

The team in third place in the league at play-offs has succeeded in gaining promotion 7 times out of 15 seasons from the league re-brand up to 2020. League position does not otherwise make a significant difference to the chance of promotion. The teams finishing in 4th have gained promotion three times, 6th twice, and in 5th position four times up to the end of the 2019/20 season.

Betting on The Championship

With so much profit to be made from promotion to the Premier League the battle for top spots in the Championship can make for exciting betting opportunities.

Bets can be placed on the outright winner of the league and which teams will gain the coveted top 2 positions for automatic promotion. It is also popular to place bets on which teams will finish in the top 6 and make play-offs, and which teams will win promotion.

At the other end of the league it can be profitable to place bets on which teams will be relegated this season and which team will finish bottom of the League.

The top goalscorer of the league is also another gamble worth taking. The top goalscorer in the league has come from a team which hasn't gained promotion 7 times in the 16 seasons between 2004-2020.

2020/21 Key Dates

The Championship season runs from August to May. The 2020/21 season started late due to the Coronavirus Pandemic.

  • Fixture release day - 21 Aug 2020.
  • Season begins – 12 Sept 2020.
  • Sky Bet Championship Final Day - 8/9 May 2021.